Recognition Programs

The National Social Responsibility Award Programs honor credit unions that demonstrate the credit union difference through innovative community involvement and efforts to incorporate the credit union philosophy in their daily operations and member service—both core values of the credit union pioneers whose names are associated with these programs.

National Social Responsibility Recognition Award Programs

Since 1987, the Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Recognition Award has honored credit unions for their charitable works in their communities.  Some credit unions have ongoing programs and establish a special relationship with local social service agencies or school programs.  Other programs address many different needs in the community.  No matter the size or scope of a project, each participating credit union builds its reputation as a good corporate citizen along the way.

Credit unions enter the Dora Maxwell Award program in one of eight asset categories or the chapter/multiple credit union group category.

Beginning in 1990, the Louise Herring Award for Philosophy in Action has commended credit unions that make exceptional efforts to include credit union philosophy in their daily operations and member service.  Programs that provide financial education to particular member groups within the credit union or special assistance to low-income members struggling to pay heating bills, for example, are clear examples of the philosophy that sets credit unions apart from other financial institutions.

Entrants in the Louise Herring Award program compete in four asset categories.

This year's national winners will be honored at the next Governmental Affairs Conference in Washington, D.C.

Click here for the 2014 National Recognition Awards Program entry information.

For more information, email Donna Bevilacqua, Director, Communications & Community Relations, or call 1-800-842-1242.